New posts Mondays and Thursdays (usually). RSS.
Tell me what to install next: writingonlinux@gmail.com

New FocusWriter themes

A while ago, I wrote about FocusWriter and what makes it virtually unique among similar “zenware-themed” writing software. Unfortunately, some of the theme repositories I’ve linked to in the post have since disappeared into the great 404 of the internet. Instead, I’ve decided to try my hand at making some of my own!

Here are some FocusWriter themes using the following creative commons licensed photos from Flickr:

I’ll try to update this post as I find more pictures.

8 Comments on “New FocusWriter themes”

  1. bitter lemon says:

    blog.scrybr.com had some really wonderful focus writer themes, unfortunately it seems to be down. But one of my favorite ones can be seen here as a jpeg via the wayback machine

    • awkisopen says:

      blog.scrybr.com was one of the sites I linked to =/ I wonder if it would be a bad idea to try to dig them up again and rehost them? I’d feel a bit bad doing that, though.

      • bitter lemon says:

        I have many of the themes so I could up them somewhere. Maybe you could link to them, with full credit given to scrybrnaut, and as a way of honouring his labour of love. I’m not sure if they were CC though.

        I studied his style and I think he was finding textures from flickr, using them as background, with appropriate typography. OK, I guess that makes it sound like anyone could do it, but that person was definitely a brilliant designer

  2. avstron says:

    Hey, great themes! Thanks!
    (I love Scrybr’s themes, I just hope the owner uploads more, they’re just beautiful!)

  3. scrybrnaut says:

    Owner of Scrybr here. It’s been a while, but I’ll be relaunching the site with a dozen new themes. Thanks for the kind words. 🙂

  4. Hello there, simply changed into aware of your blog through Google, and located that it is really informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful in the event you continue this in future. A lot of other people will likely be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  5. Paul Gresham says:

    I like Focuswriter but don’t like the absence of a permanently visible menu bar, it’s permanently off by default.
    Apparently Focuswriter 1.4.4 resolves this.
    I only downloaded it last night and am using a Linux computer but will install it on a Windows computer and see how I like it.
    I’m having problems installing it on my Linux computer, with Linux Mint operating system.
    Maybe I’ll blog about how much I like it despite the above problem, well, problem for me.

  6. […] I will link you to some I just found. No idea just how long they will stay around: site 1, site 2, site 3, site […]


Leave a Reply

